space to think

the horror vacui

How to kill time efficiently 201

One of my earliest memories is sniffing a rose while wearing pig tails.  I also remember walking down a row of freshly cut grass behind my father pushing a mower, pretending I was walking down a trail in a secret garden. 

I decided to try and play grownup in my little city yard over the past week.  For starters I raked and pulled weeks in the small patch of bed beside the front walk.  I then sprinkled down two packs of wildflowers purchased from Target for $1 each.  I can’t wait to see what they look like!

Weeks ago I purchased a Groupon for $30 worth of whatever I wanted for $15 from Campbell and Ferrara Outdoor Living in Alexandria.   I finally visited the garden center this past Saturday and went home with 2 tomato plants, 2 bell pepper plants, 2 cilantro and parsley plants, rosemary, thyme, mint, oregano, basil, and a jalapeno plant.  I cannot wait to make salsa and mojitos!  (dont worry I will purchase the Rum.  i’m not making that in the basement). 

I planted some of the herbs in a drawer I got off Freecycle.  I just used a hammer and pounded out the bottom and viola: an urban redneck planter!  Now I just need to find a few pots off Freecycle for my tomato and pepper plants and I will officially have a potted garden in the city.

Having baby girl out there with me is so much fun.  She picks up so quickly on things.  When I was scooping dirt into my makeshift planter, she started carefully placing fistfuls of dirt on top of the plans.  So precious!  Maybe one of her first memories will be of being outside. 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “How to kill time efficiently 201

  1. gammer on said:

    how precious..mommy and daughter planting! and think of seeds you are planting in her life. with digging in the dirt…how they love it and let them get dirty. Bath time is always more fun when you are dirty. thanks for the pics!

Leave a Reply

space to think

the horror vacui

StyleCaster

Style News and Trends

Around the Hill

Photos, and maybe a geeky blog post or two!

Keira Lennox

real-life beauty & style.

The Art in Life

Color. Habit. Quirk.

joy woven deep

thoughts from abby perry

"Yeah but," Banter

Filling the conversation with plenty of "yeah, but..."

Leaving a Legacy

How did we get here? and Where are we going? A commentary on politics, faith, society, people, music, and the future

adailysarah

daily Sarahings, you never know what you will find

champagne picnic

let's laugh & sip champagne & be fabulous

Charm City Kim

Vegetarian Gal living in Charm City (Baltimore)

Mike * Laura

Young, Married, Sinful, and Saved... Enjoying God's Grace

Inspired To Action

Incredibly practical tips for inspired moms.

