space to think

the horror vacui

how to kill time efficiently 101

I guess you can say one of my hobbies is browsing the furniture section of craigslist.  (I’ll save my other hobby of browsing freecycle for a different post!)  There are a few rules I follow: only items in my town and the one next, and posts only by owners…and generally nothing over $30.  Yes, thirty dollars. 

I am definately kicking this hobby into high gear as a way to keep myself busy while the hubbs is TDY – even after yesterday’s experience.

I saw posted for $20 on Wednesday this quaint GREEN dresser/armoire that I thought would look perfect in our bedroom.  The underwear drawer in my ikea dresser from college refuses to open and I refuse to go comando.  I am sick and tired of my hand getting stuck in the drawer. 

The email correspondence between me and the seller took way to long – I should have taken that as a clue.  On Saturday morning, I dragged my mom and baby girl to go pick up this piece that I thought my mom and I could pick up and throw in the back of the SUV.

 Ha! 

Objects appear smaller than they actually are apparently.  This thing was 5 feet tall and 5 feet wide and about 500 pounds.  But…I just had to have it.  See, I put all my emotions about the hubbs being gone into moments like these or rather monstrosity pieces of bizarre used furniture.

Somehow mom and I got this thing up into the back of our SUV with the help of some pizza delivery guy who had pity on us.  I drove the slowest I have ever driven with the trunk tied down by some random cord I found in the car.  We then somehow got the piece out of the car, but then it had to sit out in the front yard during rain and hail.  Dont’ worry it didnt damage it. 

It took 4 people to get it up the few stairs and inside the house.  But then… we realized there was no way in hell we could get that thing up our stairs.  So, it now proudly disgraces my front porch, waiting to be stolen…please dear God.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

space to think

the horror vacui

StyleCaster

Style News and Trends

Around the Hill

Photos, and maybe a geeky blog post or two!

Keira Lennox

real-life beauty & style.

The Art in Life

Color. Habit. Quirk.

joy woven deep

thoughts from abby perry

"Yeah but," Banter

Filling the conversation with plenty of "yeah, but..."

Leaving a Legacy

How did we get here? and Where are we going? A commentary on politics, faith, society, people, music, and the future

adailysarah

daily Sarahings, you never know what you will find

champagne picnic

let's laugh & sip champagne & be fabulous

Charm City Kim

Vegetarian Gal living in Charm City (Baltimore)

Mike * Laura

Young, Married, Sinful, and Saved... Enjoying God's Grace

Inspired To Action

Incredibly practical tips for inspired moms.

